NAACP MSC 83rd Convention and Elections

MSC Convention & Elections

This past weekend, the Maryland State Conference of the NAACP held its 83rd convention and elections. We’d like to congratulate our very own Shawnna Stringfellow for elected as the NAACP MSC Assistant Treasurer (along with new MSC President Kobi Little and other new officers). She is the first Garrett County resident to represent Garrett County at the state level!!

Below, you’ll find official statements from our NAACP MSC leadership.

Maryland NAACP Elects New Leadership 

“Rev. Kobi Little and the Moving Maryland Forward Slate of Leaders earn a Mandate”

Baltimore, MD:  Over the weekend the Maryland State Conference of Branches of the NAACP held its 83rd annual convention in Charles County, Maryland. On October 28, during the convention, members from around the state participated in the election of state officers as well as officers for the state Youth and College Division. The newly elected President of the Maryland State NAACP is Reverend Kobi Little, who currently serves as the President of the Baltimore NAACP, the largest branch in the state. Rev. Little led a slate of leaders from Garrett County in Western Maryland all the way to Wicomico County on the Eastern Shore, and they swept the competition. Rev. Little overcame two other candidates with over 55% of the vote. Youth and College Division President Dorien Rogers was re-elected as president and his slate was victorious as well. The elected leaders took office immediately following the announcement of the election results. The newly elected leaders will be recognized at the Baltimore NAACP Freedom Fund event on November 8, and an installation ceremony will take place in December.

Reverend Kobi Little, President of the Maryland NAACP, released the following statement: 

“Even with all of the progress that has been made in Maryland, there are still very real threats to freedom, justice, equity and democracy. The NAACP Maryland State Conference must rise to the occasion and lead on voting rights, inclusive economic development, environmental and climate justice, equitable and trauma informed education, fair and affordable housing, decarceration, violence reduction and so many other issues. Our people deserve excellent leadership, advocacy and service from the NAACP and our partners are eager to collaborate with us. I am honored and excited to have the opportunity to build unity and to work with such a talented team of leaders to move Maryland forward.”

Vice President Faith Blackburne-Proctor responded to the election results with the following comment: 

“We brought together a group of multi-generational leaders from across Maryland to lead this State Conference to the next level of excellence and leadership, each with their own expertise and NAACP experience. During our campaign we promised to build a state conference that would make our members proud by being impactful, inclusive, accountable and supportive of our units. Now, we begin the work to make good on our promises!”

Youth and College Division President Dorien Rogers said the following:

“As leaders of the Maryland Youth and College Division, it is our honor to serve the intersectional youth of Maryland in our collective efforts to move Maryland Forward. We too often say that youth are our future, but what we too often forget is that youth are also our now. As gun violence continues to be the number one killer of youth in Maryland, as student debt continues to strain the financial future of diverse borrowers, as continued assaults on the intersections of our diverse school communities persist, and as we see alarming change in our climate due to greenhouse gasses, Maryland’s Youth and College Division is ready to advocate for positive change and lay the foundation for the next generation. This is not just a moment, but a movement forged by generations before and for generations to come.”

Maryland State Conference Elected Executive Committee Members:

President – Reverend Kobi Little (Baltimore City)

1st Vice President – Faith Blackburne-Proctor (Montgomery County)

2nd Vice President – Dr. Danita Tolson (Baltimore County)

3rd Vice President – Tifani Fisher (Allegany County)

Treasurer – Joshua Harris (Baltimore City)

Assistant Treasurer – Shawnna Stringfellow (Garrett County)

Secretary – Betty Johnson (Cecil County)

Assistant Secretary – NaShona Kess, Esq. (Baltimore City)

At-Large – Vicki Jones (Harford County)

At-Large – Cherri Branson, Esq. (Montgomery County)

At-Large – Edward Lee (Wicomico County)

At-Large – Pamela Cousins (Calvert County)

At-Large – Vernon Ricks (Montgomery County)

Maryland State Conference Youth and College Division Officers:

President – Dorien Rogers (Montgomery County Youth Council)

Vice President – Laila Amin (Morgan State University Chapter)

Treasurer – Torrey Rogers II (Morgan State University Chapter)

Secretary – Gabrielle Moore (Charles County Youth Council)